Q. What is the difference between locked print and hold print in my copier?

Answer

Locked print is a setting that uses a username and PIN to print documents at the copier.  This is the best practice on campus for employees. Students can’t use locked print.

Hold print is very much like locked print except it doesn’t have a username and PIN.  The document will print but this solution is less secure because it lacks authentication.  This is also the default for documents printed to copiers in public spaces. This protects documents that might have been printed without turning on locked print.

To release a locked or hold print visit the copier and select the printer icon on the control panel.  Look for your username (example abc123) in the list of documents then select it. You will be presented with a list of 1 or more documents that could be printed.  Select the document and press print. If the document was printed as a locked print you will requested to enter your PIN. The document will print. Hold prints will print with just a selection.  Note: locked and hold prints are normally deleted from the copiers after 3 hours.

Topics

  • Last Updated Dec 10, 2018
  • Views 3
  • Answered By Misti Smith

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0   0